Daily Archives: February 25, 2011

Bless the rains down in Africa

This post is not a new idea for me–it’s something I have been talking about for a while now. It’s about liking what you like and not bowing to what is cool. We all have those songs in our lives that we just love… it’s not cool nor is it easy to talk about these songs but there they are. They are the songs that you hear and no matter what is going on, you have to take a little time out of your day and just sing it out.  When you talk to people about music they are not the bands or songs that come into the conversation. What is this impulse to pretend you don’t like something that clearly you enjoy? As a music nerd, music is a huge part of my life. I listen to music any chance I get. My poor wife is subjected to my whims because I decided to no longer pretend to not like what I obviously do. Why do we do it? Why do we hide away the love that we have for these songs? My guess is to maintain some semblance of cool. But that theory doesn’t work with the people you love . The people you love are the people who have already made the choice to keep you in their lives even if you are a giant nerd. So I say stop all the hating. Drop the pretense that you don’t like these songs and just learn to embrace what and who you are. I have found when I do talk to people about certain songs, I find that they tend to let down the guard and fill you in on the songs that they store as guilty pleasures. A family member of mine loves the Backstreet Boys still to this day and God bless her, she does not pretend otherwise. She embraces the fact that she loved them as a teenager and dammit she will continue loving them. Guilty pleasure is the word we always use to pretend we just listen to something for the kitschy value of that song instead of saying, “Screw it. This song just does it for me.” Stop hiding behind what is or isn’t “cool”. My mp3 player is loaded with songs that might make someone else scoff and comment, but that’s okay. Take some time to look at those songs and let people know what you love.  Be who you are. No one is born cool (except maybe Johnny Depp). I challenge anyone who reads this ( which is like three people) to comment and add the songs that they love and know it’s not cool to admit. Release those “guilty pleasures” and just make them “pleasures.” Fuck the guilt. In the interest of fairness I will give you a list of the songs that I enjoy and usually get scoffed at when I admit it. In no particular order:

Abba’s “Dancing Queen”…. hot Swedes, sweet melody and a catchy hook. What is not to like about this song?

Toto’s “Africa”…I have no idea exactly what this song is about. But what I do know is that I love to sing it ( in falsetto) and dammit, it makes me feel better when I do.

Neil Diamond’s “Song sung blue”…. singer, songwriter, American hero.

John Denver’s “Country Roads”…. Once I had an idea to start The Church of John Denver. It was kind of a joke I had with my wife (that she posted as a context-free quote from me on Facebook). But the response was kind of funny and it seems like the Church of John Denver would have had some converts. Maybe a plan for the future.

Phil Collins’ “Against all Odds”….Now I know Phil is kind of a dick but this song is sung so passionately and I just love it.

Asia’s “Heat of the Moment”… When I get a guitar in front of me, eventually I will start playing this song. It’s just fun to do the guitar with those percussion hits. Watch the video for the 80’s cheese–stay for the part where he wipes the smile off his face. Soooooo literal.

Shai’s “If I Ever Fall in Love”…So I might have had a small 90’s R&B streak in me. This song is a direct result of my older brother liking it and me never letting it go.

Kenny Rogers “Ruby”….The saddest song ever just listen to the lyrics it’s messed up

I had better stop the list now because I could go on and on and on…